Saltar al contenido principal.

Escudo de la Junta de Castilla y León; Página de inicio



About Castilla y León

Contenido principal. Saltar al inicio.

Castilla y León regional Government

The Castilla y León self-government, according to the constitutional framework, has as reference the Statute of Autonomy, but even before the current Constitution, there was a will to create a territorial body with own singularity. This interest became a reality in June 1978 with the creation of the Castilla y León General Council that would be acting until it was replaced by the institutions of the Statute of Autonomy.

The Statute defines as basic institutions of the region, the regional Parliament, the regional Government and its President.

The Castilla y León regional Government is, according to law, the government and administration body of Castilla y León and it is in charge of the executive function and the reglamentary authority, according to the Statute and the legal system.

Its powers, within the functions of the region, are allocated in ministries. Each of them is in charge of developing its administrative activity  Act 3/2001, 3rd July, of the Government and Administration of Castilla y León region The number of ministries and its structure depends on the President.

Heading of each ministry of the regional government there is a regional minister, that is appointed and removed by the President. Each ministry is divided in General Directorates that co-ordinate and manage the administrative services. Moreover, each ministry has a General Secretary and can depend on it different autonomic bodies and public companies.

For the territorial management, in each province there is a Territorial Delegate that co-ordinates, all the peripheral services of the ministries.

The regional Government President head office.

The head office of the Castilla y León regional Government is in the Presidency building in Valladolid, that is located at Plaza de Castilla y León, 1.

More information: Castilla y León regional Government