Saltar al contenido principal.

Escudo de la Junta de Castilla y León; Página de inicio



About Castilla y León

Contenido principal. Saltar al inicio.


To get to know Castilla y León, we need first, to talk about its historical development, its settlements, heritage, and geography. The long distances among different points of the region, like 470 kilometres from Ágreda, in Soria, to Ciudad Rodrigo, in Salamanca, or 509 Km between Villafranca del Bierzo, north of León, and Arcos de Jalón, also in Soria, give us an idea of the region's wide area.


Such wide area, has placed this region as the largest in Spain and one of the largest of the European Union.

Most extensive regions of the European Union
Region Country Surface (km²)
Övre Norrland Sweden 165,079.4
Pohjois-Suomi Finland 141,541.3
Castilla y León Spain 94,225
Andalucía Spain 87,599
Itä-Soumi Finland 85,171.7
Castilla-La Mancha Spain 79,461
Mellersta Norrland Sweden 77,331.1
Bayern Germany 70,548
Norra Mellansverige Sweden 69,547.7
Länsi-Suomi Finland 64,647.3

Source: European Commission

Open a new window to download the Table  Download the table Most extensive regions of the European Union in Excel format


Compound by nine provinces, Ávila, Burgos, León, Palencia, Salamanca, Segovia, Soria, Valladolid and Zamora, the region is located at the north-west of the Iberian Peninsula. At south it borders with Castilla-La Mancha, Madrid and Extremadura, at north with Asturias, Cantabria, País Vasco and La Rioja, at east with Aragón and at west with Portugal and Galicia, id est, it borders with nine of the seventeen Spanish Autonomous regions. This makes this region the link among numerous Spanish regions, which, at the same time, let it maintain strong links and similarities with the nearest areas of these bordering regions.

More information: Spatial Data Infrastructure in Castilla y León (IDECyL)